The Art Process for Those Curious Pt. 2

It’s been a few weeks since the first entry in the project diary. Over that span a few characteristics of the project have evolved.

1. It’s becoming more narrative than originally imagined. – I had thought that this would be much more abstract than its turning out. After going through three days of editing what i’ve shot, I can see more narrative than anticipated. How weird is that? I was going out and shooting abstract, but I’ve gotten more narrative. Is it just something that’s more engrained in my mind? Not sure. However I have a hunch that it has something to do with the next point:

2. I’ve shot some cool frames that I’m proud of. These clips have influenced the direction of the “shortfilm/vid.” – I had remembered this graffiti riddled tunnel from my days as a YMCA Summer Counselor. I would take some of the kids down here to play in the creek and go exploring. As I revisited the tunnel, I found it amazing how my surroundings were a HUGE influence on where my artistic eye was drawn. Thoughts and ideas immediately raced through my head as soon as I arrived. It was incredible. It was worship.

Which is really what this whole video is about right? I’m putting this out there in an effort to try to worship God through film(ing).

screengrab1

Here’s a screengrab from one of the shots.

In the next few weeks I plan on pushing forward with some writing for the voice over planned. It’s not going to consist of nothing but questions asked, but finding the right questions is what will be challenging.

With the voice over, I’m also scouring different sermons that friends have sent in. It’s pretty laborious listening to every single sermon (over 15 so far) and pick out different clips that could function well within this project. Takes quite a bit of time.

In any case, I’m having fun. This is good. I’ll keep you posted.

Onward.

 

\\\

 

Sidenote: Should I call this a youtube film? since this is inevitably where it will end up? I also have no intention of any festival entries or what have you. This is purely for me to exercise creative abilities and perhaps for my small audience to enjoy my work. Anywho. I’m having difficulty catagorizing this piece.

One thought on “The Art Process for Those Curious Pt. 2

Leave a Reply

