What if Being Sad Was a Good Thing?

One of the running jokes with my friends is the phrase “What if Being Sad was a Good Thing?” I said it one day in a deprecating/self-help type of manner in order to gather a few laughs. It’s since snowballed into a saying remarked when silly questions abound. I tend to be morose or gloomy. It’s not that I have a depressing story. I just happen to lean towards a certain kind of dispositional sadness. But the strangest thing about it is… It makes me joyful.

It doesn’t have much to do with depressing state of affairs the world finds itself. But more to do with the fact that suffering seems to be a part of every day life, in large ways, and, many times, in small ways. For the christian, it’s meant to be that way.  “Give up your life and take up your cross…” and “We are but sheep to be slaughtered,” come to mind.

Rather than allow the sufferings of this world overcome me and send me into a deep spiraling depression, I do something to help soothe the aches.  The joy comes from coping with the day-to-day sufferings through the means of creative expression and allowing God to be a part of the process. Lately that’s looked like creating dishes for dinner, curating playlists to fit certain moods and occasions, and writing and setting goals for this blog.  They can serve as distractions, but mostly they are reminders of grace.

Faith fits in where it answers the questions involved with the pain I might feel. The why’s and such. The answers I find fall within the realm of Christ showing his love for us by dying. And that sometimes finds itself realized-through me-by my creativity. It’s by God’s grace that he’s allowed me to see joy through my sadness by creating for his glory.

Until recently, I hadn’t thought my little joke had any sort of truth. It was spat out to gather cheap laugh.  It turns out, however, that sometimes, being sad truly is a good thing.

2 thoughts on “What if Being Sad Was a Good Thing?

  1. I’ve definitely come to realize that being sad tends to go hand-in-hand with being creative. Or at least with being creative and having something really interesting to say. I think most of my writing stems from me dealing with issues that I might be struggling with. Art is definitely a way for me to cope.

  2. I think that the closer I draw to God, the more clearly I see the world around me and for that, I feel sad. I lean on Jesus and His joy becomes my strength to endure. I want everyone to know God is real, but I can’t force that. Expressing God becomes a moment of “Let me show you how real He is through my life.” Sometimes it is an agonizingly slow process and almost a game of how much can I endure before this person who doubts God’s existence becomes a menace in my life. I cry out to God and He gives me more strength to endure. Sometimes He removes the person from my life. I had two friends during my college years and I came to care so much about them. One of their mother’s died of Pancreatic cancer. I prayed for her, but God did not heal her. She only got one year of remission to witness the birth of my friend’s first baby. After her mother died, she moved away and would not speak to me any longer. I love them both dearly, but neither believe in Jesus nor the existence of God. It hurts me in this life, but God can reveal Himself to them in a way that they can understand who He is.

    I agree completely with what you wrote, “Faith fits in where it answers the questions involved with the pain I might feel. The why’s and such. The answers I find fall within the realm of Christ showing his love for us by dying.” It is so true. If you get a chance, read what I wrote about Jesus suffering. It’s the second one I wrote on this page.. https://cmmenut.wordpress.com/ God Bless you in your writing and witness for Him!

Leave a Reply

